Burning Life land grab no 1 and counting.

At  2:40 this morning I dragged myself out of bed and switched the PC on, ready to grab some land in the Burning Life festival 3:00am .  All last night I had been readying myself for this , . All attachments taken off, clothes taken off and  neatly folded back in my inventory. My preferences were  set to low apart from objects and distance . I even changed my skin to a simple orange just in case textures lagged me .I knew I was going to have to locate a land marker and touch it  I might have to run, I might just be lucky and land right by one  who knew what was going to happen? not me . Propping my eyelids open with cotton buds, I took a SLURL from the sim I was hoping to TP in to and sat back waiting for the word . I can’t believe how nervous I was becoming as the minutes ticked by I could feel my heart thumping against my ribcage . Other people were happily chatting away in group IM right up to the last few seconds 3    ……2………1  and then we all clicked.

And I was there.

 

The only trouble being I had ended up hundreds of feet above the playa goodness knows what I had done wrong  I suspect getting a SLURL instead of clicking on the map  and the worse of it was that due to increased lag I was just floating around wiggling my arms and legs in the air looking down to all the others busily grabbing their plots of land .

By the time I got down the land  had all gone and after 15 minuets of slow motion searching  I switched off the PC and slunk back in to bed happy in the knowledge that I could, in a few hours  gleefully get up to go to work .

Now I am waiting in world for tonights anouncement  on the 2nd land rush  and it looks like it could be another late one for the european contingency . Oh Joy 🙂 Icould face a week of this :/   

 

Snapshot_003

~ by Nish Mip on September 15, 2009.

5 Responses to “Burning Life land grab no 1 and counting.”

  1. LOL! Poor you matey! I hope you get some land – I’m dying to see your build!

    p.s. your night was better than mine on Friday – the wee Burro came into our room, got into our bed and threw up on us 😀

  2. That’s a bummer Nish, better luck tonight or whenever. I seem to be having problems even getting onto the Playa this year with some strange access denied problem.
    Look forward to seeing you there though one way or the other.
    And…
    what an oddly cuddly look your temporary orange baldness is, strangely compelling with kind eyes. s(miles)ol Moon

  3. Poor lil mite Hope he’s feeling better now and hows the lad ? 🙂 By the way Head didn’t mean to dis your post on Shanghai too much I thought it a really strong piece very nicely constructed . Just feeling tired and silly. 🙂

  4. Hey Moon . I’m def going to be there whatever although I know I’m going to be gutted if I don’t get to build . Have you got some land this year? Are you doing something in group? It’s great to hear from you and hopefully see you soon if you can get back on the playa. 🙂 Maybe I should adopt this cheerful orangey look more often I kind of like it aswell 🙂

  5. Don’t be soft! You didn’t dis it at all! Silly bugger! 😀 x

Leave a Reply

 
